Racing

8/4/17 – Grand National Day

Profit on the day again yesterday thanks to Fox Norton doing the business at 4/1, so hopefully we can make it profit on each of the 3 days of Aintree here. 

5.15 – The Grand National

I really struggled to find anything on the rest of the card, so I’m buying 4 lottery tickets here, because that’s essentially what this race is. Nobody has any idea what’s going to win so I’m not going to bullshit and say I’ve found the winner. Form goes out the window to an extent. 

My favourite horse in training, Cause of Causes is towards the top of the market, but I’ve already backed him antepost at 40/1 so my darts will be on 4 others. 

Hopefully we can hit bullseye with the first dart in the shape of One For Arthur. He looks an ideal type for this race, and his win at Warwick was impressive. Whilst he may have preferred it a little softer, he’s still capable of a big run. SkyBet 16/1 (1/4 odds 5 places). 

Should the first dart stray into single 1, hopefully dart 2 can hit that little red bit. And for me that’s Wounded Warrior. He should stay the trip, and he does have some decent form, albeit a long time ago. The headgear comes off here, it may work. It may not. I guess we’ll find out just before 5.30. Plenty of 66/1 5 places available. 

Dart 3 is Measureofmydreams. The form of the 4 miler last year has worked out incredibly well, and if he runs to that form again here, he’ll be bang there. Now that is a big if, especially as he’s not the best jumper, but the headgear will hopefully wake him up. 66/1 Stan James (1/4 odds 5 places).

The last one for me is Lord Windermere. In all probability, he will be in the half of the field that will not get round. However, he did win the Gold Cup in 2014 and runs here off 146. He does look likes he’s gone at the game, but the return to better ground here will definitely suit, and a tongue tie might just spark him back to life. Plenty of 50/1 5 places about. 

Now none of what I’ve just written will probably actually happen, but just thought I’d share what I’m backing and why. Obviously all will be EW, and not going overboard on stakes either. 

Would just like to take a moment to draw attention to the featured photo as well, from that horrible day at Cheltenham where we sadly lost Many Clouds. I was there that day and I’ll never forget that feeling when it was announced over the tannoy that he had died. It was sickening. He should have been lining up in this, and without a doubt would have been the most popular winner. RIP Clouds 

Standard

Leave a Reply

