Racing

18/4/17

A disappointing day yesterday, but I’m happy we have some good flat action this midweek. I have also decided that every racing bet I post will be complete with a full write up on here. This is because in the last few months I’ve been getting lazy with my bets, partly due to working long hours, and results have suffered as such. By writing a blog, it’ll force me to make a good case for backing each horse, and if I cannot do so, then I shouldn’t be backing it. Anyway, onto some bets for Day 1 of the Craven meeting. 

Newmarket

2.20 – Contribute 12/1 EW (Betfred)

This looks a really decent little race here, and I’m sure a fair few winners will come out of it. Hopefully it’s Martyn Meade’s runner Contribute that wins this though. Meade has a very good record with his 2yos, boasting a 20% SR in the last 5 years. His pedigree suggests he won’t need much further than this in time, and I think he can go well. 

2.55 – Via Egnatia 6/4 (Stan James)

Via Egnatia is bred to be very good, being a half-brother to 6 winners, with his dam an American G1 winner. He was too keen on both of his first 2 starts, but shaped with plenty of promise on both occasions. He did settle much better here on his final start of last season, where he was sent the front and perhaps that’s what helped him. You’d imagine they’ll employ similar tactics here and hopefully he can use that very impressive turn of foot he showed last time. This looks to be his optimum trip too. 

4.05 – Salouen 15/8 (Betfair/Paddy Power)

I thought Salouen was a good bet here. His form is far superior to anything else in the race on the basis of his 3rd in the Racing Post Trophy, and his earlier runner up finish behind National Defense in the Prix Jean-Luc Lagadere on Arc day. If he runs within a few lbs of either of those runs he’ll take some stopping, and with Ryan Moore in the plate I expect him to get the job done. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

